Day 121 2 Samuel 5:1-10, 1 Chronicles 11-12

So I added up some of the numbers they gave for the size of David’s army (guessing a little with Issachar) and came up with around an army that totals 337,000 warriors… roughly the same size as the US Navy. That’s surreal to me… I’m having a tough time figuring out how that many people fit into such a tiny area. and stayed fed! Man I do not envy the logistics officer (J4?)for THAT army.

Lord,  I struggle with the battles and the death and the dying.  If You are love, then why war?  Why war then, why war now?  I don’t expect the world to be perfect, what would be left to learn in a world that was perfect?  The little taste of war and it’s effects on the lives around me leaves my heart aching.  These men in David’s army may be numbers written in the book of Chronicles but they are real people who lived and died, just like today’s warriors who are living a dying today.  I don’t get it.  But it is the reality we are living in, and therefore you are there too.

